Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Poppy's sensitive digestive system!!

dogslovelinda
September 27th, 2007, 02:59 AM
Hello there, I am new to this so I accidently posted a thread to the general forum instead of here, as it was quite detailed I won't go through it again but if you wish to look it is entitled 'New puppy troubles - hopefully at an end'. To sum up my Papillon puppy had diarrhea from the day I brought her home and the vet wouldn't vaccinate her until she had been diarrhea free for two weeks, eventually this happened and she had her first injection on Tuesday, although she was a bit sore from the needle she was still as fit as a fiddle but the vaccination seems to have brought on the diarrhea again, not as bad as before, but I can't understand why this has happened. Poppy (that's her name) is very sensitive to any slight change in her diet but apart from the odd treat, she is eating the same brand of food all the time. Can you advise me?
Linda

clm
September 27th, 2007, 07:42 AM
what are you feeding her?

Cindy

dogslovelinda
September 27th, 2007, 12:42 PM
I am feeding her Butcher's puppy food in tins

Lukka'sma
September 27th, 2007, 02:28 PM
When we brought Lukka home at 10 weeks old she had the soft stool thing going on too. Many food changes over the months and the stools were always loose and smelly and just foul. She was on five different foods until I finally took the advice of one of our members and started to feed her grain free. Stools are perfect now it took me until she was about 14 months old to realize she was sensitive to any kind of gluten. She now eats Orijen and all her treats are grain free as well.
I can't navigate the Butchers site to give me a list of ingredients in your puppies food but your puppies problem might be something similar to what Lukka went through.

dogslovelinda
September 27th, 2007, 05:25 PM