Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

when will kittens walk?

chefg
September 21st, 2007, 07:27 PM
My stray cat had her kittens two weeks ago tomorrow. They started opening their eyes after 8 days and are growing like crazy. How long before they start to walk? They are sort of walking, but very wobbly right now. She also keeps moving them from one place to another in the room. How long should I wait to hold them? I am very new to all of this!!!

CyberKitten
September 21st, 2007, 10:50 PM
Most kittens will begin to take tentative steps in the 4th week. They'll begin to start to stand between the 3rd and 4th weeks, and will try to walk, although their first movements will be very wobbly. Their tiny teeny bodies are out of proportion to what their final adult one will be,their little tails are very short and their heads are disproportionately large for their bodies and legs. This leads to the wobbliness but before you know it, you will see them moving.

They will also begin to try escaping from their nesting area even as they still nurse. Make sure mom has good quality food and even some kitten food while she is nursing. Good luck!!!

Love4himies
September 21st, 2007, 10:56 PM
I have just experienced my first foster litter and cyberkitten is right on the mark.

I started holding them at one week for very short periods of time. Momma was very comfortable and as long as she didn't mind I felt comfortable doing this. Get your cues from momma, she will let you know what she wants you to do. If momma is comfy, then kittens will be comfy with what you are doing. I find the kittens basically play follow the leader and momma is the leader.

rainbow
September 22nd, 2007, 12:59 AM
Cyberkitten and Love4himies gave you great information so all I have to add is "don't forget to post pics". :D

Kit'sGirl
September 23rd, 2007, 12:08 PM