Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Fostering an adult Chi

twruble
September 11th, 2007, 07:57 PM
So there must be a big "S" on my forehead for sucker. We are first time dog onwers (15wk chihuahua - Eddie) and have gone through very trying times with our little guy already yet I now seem to find myself with a 2yr female chi as of a week ago. Eldest daughter brought her home as her friend was forced (by parents) to get rid of the dog for excessive barking and snapping. It was on the way to the pound when my daughter intervened.

While I am far from an expert, I have been successful in getting her barking down considerably and the snapping to a bare minimum. She seems very happy here compared to the shivering timid gal of a week ago but now I am feeling bad. Its obvious to me that she was abused somewhat in the past and we will attempt to find a good home for her but I must be honest that I am worried that all of my efforts here will go to waste if she doesn't find the right home. I'm worried that she will regress and be passed around from home to home....

She was not properly socialized - our Eddie outshines her already in friendliness and manners - so the negative behavior is not her fault. She is actually very sweet and again, nothing like the dog brought here a week ago... I am toying with the idea of keeping her but would be pushing it with hubbies allergies.

Guess my question here might be how long should I foster and work with her (without her growing too attached), how do I ensure a good home, and finally, how do I let her go? (Told you... I am a sucker :p)

mummummum
September 11th, 2007, 08:18 PM
Wellllll... I don't know about the sucker part but you certainly do have a big heart.

I've never fostered (attachment issues I'm afraid) but hopefully Frenchy, LP and some of the others who foster successfully and often will chime in. Hazel might regale you with her tales as a failed foster (sorry hazel ~ couldn't resist).