Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Oh no,Bailey has a tick

chico2
September 11th, 2007, 01:56 PM
Today I noticed this thing about an inch away from her right eye,it is definetly a tick,all swelled and ugly looking:yell:
I left a note for the owner,I've never had an animal with ticks,I know you use tweezers to remove the whole thing,but she's not my dog,I did not want to attempt it..
Is it dangerous for her,in case it's still there tomorrow??

want4rain
September 11th, 2007, 02:03 PM
:laughing::laughing: silly northerners!!

yeah, just pull it off w/tweezers and hit a tick site to ID it. some carry disease. :)

-ashley

want4rain
September 11th, 2007, 02:11 PM
i dont think it would HURT for it to stay there because if it had a disease then the dog already has it but if it falls off it can have babies in your yard. im no expert but i dont see anythign wrong with pulling it off... happens every day here!!! i imagine that guy or a near by relative had a heck of a journey to make to get all the way up ther!!

just make sur eyou have a positive id on it or you save it for the owner!

-ashley

chico2
September 11th, 2007, 02:11 PM
:laughing::laughing:Oh well,it's really ugly looking,I'll try it tomorrow if the owner has not already removed it....
It's really close to her eye though,it will be a 2 people job:yell:

EdwinBird
September 11th, 2007, 09:59 PM
During the early summer sometimes when Riordan and I would get back from a walk in the country I'd count upwards of 6 - 8 ticks on him. He always enjoys being checked for ticks (I give him a firm rub-down which seems to make him happy) and I always found tweezers to work fine (I've never tried the specialty "tick-tweezers"). Just remember to grab it by the head, otherwise you may end up ripping only the body off.

otter
September 11th, 2007, 10:21 PM
Eweewwwww! Just the thought of ticks make me creepy:yuck: