Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Nilif

want4rain
September 9th, 2007, 08:47 PM
so help me with this.... when Mister bugs me for attention, ie he is nudging my hands.... what do i do? ive been making NO reaction for almost 2 months now with no impact. ive told Chris and Cailyn that it is vitally important to follow my lead with him but its hit or miss with them. its a split second to make an impact with this, im not sure what to do with these things that are undefinable. soemthign is misfiring here for him to NOT get that he is not going to get petted when he sticks his nose in my hand.

he is also nosing mens crotches painfully.

i feel like every single move i make with this dog had a profound impact from the look on my face when i let him in the door to my first movement in the morning... i feel like things i am not even aware of are creating habits in him, are feeding this dominant behavior.

over the last two weeks he has worked Chris into making him tell him 3 times to lay down. not 2, not 4, 3.

i dont know, i feel like i am constantly on guard or my dog will take over my home while we arent looking.

ive referred back to a few NILIF pages over the last few months to keep myself on track... the only thing we never really did was the separation period one lady suggests. does some thing like that really make that much of a difference??

the only two things i dont make him work for is going outside to go potty and his water. the rest of it he has to go through at least one of his commands for.

-ashley

want4rain
September 9th, 2007, 09:13 PM