Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Mother and 5 kittens

serf909
August 27th, 2007, 01:01 AM
Hi everyone, new to the forum!
I am fostering a litter of 5 kittens (about 2 weeks old), with their mother. I am a little worried about them, because the mother seems to have little interest in the kittens. I have only had them since Friday, but whenever I enter the room the mother seems to be laying down far away from the kittens. Besides the times I put the kittens near the mother while she was already laying down, I never see her feeding them. Tonight, they seemed to cry, ALOT, and the mother didn't seem to care.
This is my first time fostering, so I am not familiar with it. How often should they be nursing?
Thanks, any info would be greatly appreciated, I am going to take a look around the boards now.

Love4himies
August 27th, 2007, 06:18 AM
I am currently fostering a momma and 7 kittens. This is my first experience with a litter of kittens. A member suggested that I get a large box with a towel down to keep the kittens in. Are yours in a large enough box for Momma to lie down comfortably with the kittens?

Momma would only go in the box to nurse and clean them and then she would leave. She would nurse immediately after eating. I was feeding her Felidae Cat and Kitten mixed with Wellness Kitten kibble. Nursing moms need the extra energy to produce the milk and lots of water. She is eating about 3 times the normal adult amount. Also she should be cleaning their behinds regularily as that is the only way kittens can pee and poo. She did respond when they mewed and would go into the box.

Contact who you are fostering from or your vet to get any further instructions, possibly some kitten formula. Time is of the essence as kittens will go down hill quickly. Do not feed them cows milk.

serf909
August 27th, 2007, 05:30 PM
I tried contacting the SPCA, but there is no answer at the foster home section there :confused:
Now it is too late to go into the vet.