Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

cat mounting my arm

chefg
August 23rd, 2007, 06:25 PM
I am rather new to this and I hope you take this strange question seriously. About a month ago, while going from one place to another, I noticed that there was a cat in my back seat. She was extremely emmaciated and appeared to be a stray so I brought her home to nurse her back to health. Her nipples were protruding, so I assumed she had recently delivered. I was unable to find any kittens. I noticed last week that her belly is getting very big. She has been eating a LOT. She helps our dog eat her dinner every night as well as eating her own food. I really think she is pregnant. Anyway, she is displaying some strange behavior and I am wondering whether it is due to pregnancy or if it is just her nature. She has been mounting my arm at night when I am going to sleep. She places her back paws on my arm and sometimes kicks while her front paws are wrapped around my arm. She then nibbles on my wrist sometimes. What the heck??? She is very affectionate and I have had many cats in my life, but never experienced this? Can anyone help?

badger
August 23rd, 2007, 07:44 PM
I would class this as harmless if unusual behaviour, like hair-chewing or pretend suckling. The cat probably had a miserable early life and finally feels comfortable enough to express her affection (and gratitude!), even if it is a bit weird. It will probably pass but if it bugs you gently shift her or distract her with a string or a toy. Poor thing, thanks for taking her in.
Please have her spayed after the kittens are born, she will come into heat again in a matter of weeks.
Got a picture?

Jim Hall
August 23rd, 2007, 07:56 PM
My cat blockejead used to do that all the time
i think he thought I was a body pillow

LynLyn
August 23rd, 2007, 08:19 PM
I think she's just showing you her (immense) gratitude, and I second the spaying.

chefg
August 24th, 2007, 06:56 AM