Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Toronto vets/aural hematoma

wenchy
July 12th, 2007, 01:19 PM
Firstly, my dog has an aural hematoma in his one ear ( occured while his minor ear infection was being treated ). My current vet is quoting me 1100 total for the surgery itself. I'm fairly new to Canada from the US and my regular TX vet told me it should cost roughly 350-500 total. Is there any reason for prices to be hovering in the 1k range for this proceedure here versus back home? I do not mind having to pay but I feel like my vet has been raping my wallet over what appears to be a relatively minor proceedure ( I was quoted another 400 total for post care - weekly visits / removal of tube /etc.)

Any thoughts?

( also my dog is a male 10 yr old shepherd/mix )

Dr Lee
July 12th, 2007, 01:45 PM
Demographics can certainly be a large factor. If you think it is purely demographics - get a second quote. The price that another toronto vet gives you may answer that question.

Also every surgery is very dependent upon the patient and the disease. I just performed two pyometra surgeries this month. One was TWICE the price of the other. Same sized dog, same age, same disease. Totally different prices. It had to do with the severity of the disease and the status of the pet.

Some recommendations: Perhaps ask your vet if there are any items which may be optional and if this is a more extensive hematoma than usual.

Hope that helps. :pawprint:

coppperbelle
July 12th, 2007, 05:14 PM
I can't tell you what the surgery would cost today but a number of years ago I paid $150.00 for the surgery.

Last week one of our foster dogs had a hematoma drained. Frenchy should be able to tell you how much it cost at her vet here in the MOntreal area.

Dr Lee
July 12th, 2007, 06:48 PM