Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Veterinary Hospital Tashereau Neutering so cheap?

karli444
July 11th, 2007, 09:30 AM
Hello,
I am a student and I need to get my mini poodle neutered. I dont have a ton of money. Most of the vets that I have looked at have been asking around 150. Then I discovered the Vet Hospital Tashereau on the South Shore where they are only asking $75. Does anyone know anything about this place and why it is so inexpensive? I just moved here and I dont know much about the vets.
any insight would be greatly appreciated!!

ancientgirl
July 11th, 2007, 09:53 AM
I don't know anything about that vet hospital, but I know where I live, in Miami, it cost me about $95 to get my kitten Vlad neutered at my vet's office and $245 to get Oksana my female kitty spayed. There are also animal shelters which offer spay and neutering for anywhere between $60 - $125. $75 seems to be a normal price.

Frenchy
July 11th, 2007, 12:44 PM
My vet charges $150 for a 100 lbs dog so $75 for a mini poodle is average. For me anyway.

luckypenny
July 11th, 2007, 01:35 PM
I'd look into it a bit further. Call them and ask for details as to what's included. Approximately 150$ is the average cost for this area of the South Shore. Maybe if you call other vets in the area as well and ask for details as to what's included too, you can compare. I do know that for 75$, that particular vet does not do a blood profile, the pet is given morphine, operated, and then given an anti-biotic shot. That's it. They use dissolving stitches which does not require a further check-up. However, I like the idea of going back after 10 days or so just to make sure everything has healed properly. Many other vets include this follow-up visit and a blood profile in their price, as well as any further antibiotics to be administered at home. You'd really have to ask for more info.

BMDLuver
July 11th, 2007, 05:42 PM