Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Another Spaying question - Sorry!

ancientgirl
July 1st, 2007, 02:05 PM
I'm sorry to be asking so many questions, but I'm new to all of this. Vlad and Oksana are doing well, but I'm a little concerned about the Little Miss. The area where her incision is looks a little bumpy and it feels hard.

It's not red and there's nothing oozing from it. They have both been eating as usual and sleeping quite a bit. As much as I've been trying to keep them calm, they've been playing like mad. I've had to separate them a couple of times, because I'm afraid that in their rough play Oksana's wound will open.

I'm considering taking Oksana to the vet, because I just don't know if her wound is supposed to be bumpy and hard. Is that just part of the healing process?

rainbow
July 1st, 2007, 02:57 PM
I'm sure Oksana is fine as long as none of the stitches have opened and not oozing. I would however try and keep them from playing together. Do you have an elizabethan collar for her?

ancientgirl
July 1st, 2007, 03:13 PM
Shoot! I don't have one. I was thinking about asking them for one at the vet's office but I didn't think they'd be this active. They've just had another spurt of energy and settled in for another rest. I'll keep a watch out for her. She's so cute. I've been sitting next to her and she just stares at me. I wonder if she thinks if she goes to sleep she'll wake up in that cage. Vlad's a typical male, he's off on his little bed without a care in the world.

clm
July 1st, 2007, 06:03 PM
Gabby felt well enough to play after a couple of days and it was almost impossible to keep her quiet. Roughhousing with the other cats, running, jumping, etc. She ended up with a fair bump on where the incision was, but it smoothed out after the stitches were removed. Just keep an eye on it and make sure she's not licking it a lot or it's not red or oozing.

Cindy

ancientgirl
July 1st, 2007, 08:07 PM