Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Brand New Shih Tzu and worried

lbiessen
June 21st, 2007, 02:56 PM
Ok, Hi guy's I'm new to this form and a soon to be new owner of a 6 1/2 weeks old shih tzu tomorrow.:stork-baby:

I'm so nervous about potty training it, and have read alot but need some advice.

I work full time and will keep it in a crate during the day and at night while we sleep, I will take it out before work, and right after work and later in the evening, and my daughter will try and take it out during the day.

I have puppy pads for under the crate, but want her to learn to go outside, will this mess her up. I'm afraid it will be hard because some days she may be in her crate from 8 - 4:30 with out a break?

Please any help or suggestions would help me out alot. :dog:

BMDLuver
June 21st, 2007, 03:28 PM
This puppy should not be going anywhere until a minimum of 8 weeks, 12 weeks is optimum for a small breed. Second, you cannot leave a puppy of that size alone for that many hours. You may just come home to a dead dog... ie. hypoglycemia from lack of eating. Thirdly, who in their right mind is allowing this pup to leave at that age? Please don't say a breeder because that means you have just purchased a pup from either a mill or a byb.. because a reputable breeder would not allow a pup to leave at that age. Something is very non kosher with this whole thing.

luckypenny
June 21st, 2007, 03:57 PM
A 6 1/2 week old puppy is much too young to be separated from it's mother and litter mates. Any reputable breeder/rescue would never send a puppy this young home with new owners nor would they willingly adopt out if they knew a puppy would be left alone for more than 3 hours.

Please, for the puppy's sake, don't set him, and yourself, up for failure. Do your research before making such a decision.

CyberKitten
June 21st, 2007, 03:58 PM