Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Hello and HELP!

sunflower99
June 5th, 2007, 10:07 AM
Hello,

I have never done anything like this before but it was such a helpful site to read that I thought I would join and see if anyone could help me. I am at my wit's end!

I have a 4 year old male neutered orange tabby named Dobby whom I adore. We have had him since he was 8 wks old and could fit in the palm of my hand. Now he weighs 20 lbs and I have to lift with my legs when I pick him up! Anyway, we moved to a new home a year ago. That's about when the trouble started. I started finding areas where he had sprayed. The smell was terrible! I took him to the vet to do the usual tests to find out if he had an infection, he didn't.

We live in a country setting and there is a feral cat that roams around. He sprays everything and picks fights if I let Dobby out. Now Dobby is spraying in every window, inadvertantly hitting the couch, he sprays the sliding glass door and carpet in front of it as well. The smell is getting unbearable. I think he is spraying when he sees the other cat outside. Does anyone have any ideas? I'm wondering if we catch the feral cat if that would stop Dobby's behavior issues, but I don't know how to go about catching a very mean feral cat. I love entertaining and having people over but now dread it because of the smell. I burn candles like crazy to mask the odor. I've also tried Nature's Miracle but haven't noticed a difference. I think Dobby just sprays on top of it. He has never done this before we moved to this new place and he still gets along just fine with his "sister" Hermy who is a 9 pound spayed Siamese.

Anyway, I had a bad morning of cleaning up the couch and window after another mishap and needed to talk to someone!

Please help!

Thank you,
Teresa

luckypenny
June 5th, 2007, 10:15 AM