Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

kittys needs

Mittens11
May 17th, 2007, 01:14 AM
Hello, this is my first time being on this site and also my first time having a baby kitten her name is Mittens and she is 8 weeks old. I am wondering what kind of shots i have to give her when i make an appointment at the Veterinary hospital and whatever else i have to do to make her a healthy and happy little cat?? please i need to know everything...lol thanks:thumbs up

marsupial mama
May 17th, 2007, 06:12 AM
welcome, and congrats on your new kitten :cat:

I think the vet will have a program of shots that are required and/or recommended. I got a new kitten in Feb and have followed the vets program. I'm sure more experienced and knowledgeable folks here will be able to give more info and advice.

Please get her spayed too - at usually around 6 months of age. Kittens are adorable but there is a huge pet overpopulation issue going on. An article in my local paper last week said that for every one home willing to take in a cat there are 45 cats available. I'm sure you can guess what the likely fate of the other 44 cats is.

And please make her an indoor kitty - there is a very good article about keeping cats indoors on this board under the "Top 15 questions" section.

Wishing you many happy years of feline company with Mittens :cat:

gomez
May 17th, 2007, 06:52 AM
Toys! Lots and lots of toys! Our 2 used to love playing with stuffed mice, feathers and even just scrunched up paper - oh! and paper bags from the grocery store...

Litter box - clumping litter is fabulous, just scoop out the balls -

And good, quality food, there is lots of info in the food section of this forum...

Have fun!

Love4himies
May 17th, 2007, 09:08 AM