Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

RAW DIETS? Consider this...

RUSTYcat
May 6th, 2007, 08:51 PM
20 million chickens held from market

This happened Friday, showed up on CNN site yesterday AM.

http://www.cnn.com/2007/HEALTH/05/05/petfood.recall.ap/index.html

OK, now IF these birds are eventually released to market (i.e. determined to be of minimal risk to human health), the meat will end up (among other places) in the "grocer's meat section".

I have no science background, and have no intention of speculating on whether/not that chicken would pose a health concern for, e.g. cats, whose systems are much more "sensitive" than ours.

But, at least, I thinkit should be a consideration for raw-diet-feeders.

technodoll
May 6th, 2007, 08:53 PM
i prefer those kinds of raw chickens any day over the "who knows what" that ends up in commercial petfood :rolleyes: i mean if it's good enough to end up in the human food bin, it's good enough for my dogs :D

but thanks for the head's up!

Prin
May 6th, 2007, 08:56 PM
i mean if it's good enough to end up in the human food bin... Who says it is? ;)

technodoll
May 6th, 2007, 08:58 PM
well, from the original post: OK, now IF these birds are eventually released to market (i.e. determined to be of minimal risk to human health), the meat will end up (among other places) in the "grocer's meat section".

you'd love my balcony, it has raw turkey necks and raw chicken pieces drying and baking in the sun for days at a time sometimes, before the kids find it tasty enough to eat. they've never gotten sick eating their "poulet au naturel". but if they get into a few mouthfuls of kibble... omg cannon butt! pretty ironic eh? LOL

Prin
May 6th, 2007, 08:59 PM
Yeah, but how often have you seen expired meats, expired eggs, expired yogurt, etc etc on the grocer shelves? Just because you can buy it, it doesn't mean it's meant to be eaten. Who says it's good enough, is what I meant.

technodoll
May 6th, 2007, 09:04 PM