Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

thinking about moving to ottawa

~michelle~
May 4th, 2007, 03:02 PM
so im thinking about moving to ottawa in january ( i want to take social work at carleton)
any tips anyone can give me
looking for affordable yet decent place, what areas are best to live, which ones should i avoid?
i was loking on line and saw a few pet friendly apartments.
my price range is 700-900/mos rent. (incl)
what should i so when im there
any tips you can give me would be uber appreciated

Skryker
May 4th, 2007, 03:52 PM
I took courses at Carleton over the last few years (OSAP ran out before I finished my degree:frustrated: and now I'm going in a new direction) and I loved the campus and the school as a whole. The fact that it has the river on one side and the canal on the other is really nice. The fact that the whole campus built on a hillside-not so nice, but good for the legs. :rolleyes:

I'm not sure about areas and rents, but one thing to consider is that the O-train stops right in the middle of campus, so you don't even really need to be very close to the school. In fact, the parking situation kinda stinks so public transport would likely save both money and aggravation. I did a commute from Cornwall to Ottawa every day instead so it wasn't an option for me but I really wished it was, every day as I searched for a parking spot.

Good luck-if you have any questions about Carleton, I might be able to help.

BusterBoo
May 4th, 2007, 04:07 PM
I work in Ottawa but live on the Quebec side. We own our house, but rents are definitely cheaper in Hull/Gatineau and the bus service is pretty decent. I guess it all depends if you have a car or not. Parking in downtown Ottawa can run up to $175.00 a month. I am not sure if Carleton has student parking. Ottawa University has some parking for their students but not enough.

Good luck!

Skryker
May 4th, 2007, 04:12 PM