Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

How to cook for my dogs?

SuperWanda
May 3rd, 2007, 12:38 PM
Hi - I've already started adding fresh foods to our dogs kibble. Now that I've been doing that I figure why not give kibble in the morning but cook one complete meal each evening? I think I can handle that so...

I found a website that has some basic guidlines for feeding a 20lb dog (http://www.dogiebag.com/Recipes.php

It suggests:
1/4 lb of protein
1 cup carbs
1/2 - 1 cup veggies
2tbl. sardines or liver 3x per week (supplies B-12)
1/4 tsp. salt substitute (potassium chloride)
1 tsp. vegetable oil (canola or olive)

It also says if you plan on feeding cooked food only, to add bonemeal powder (1/2 tsp/25 lbs) and Multi-vitamin like Rx essential nutrients for dogs (1 tsp/25 lbs)

I have no experience with this so I wanted to ask if this sounds like a good basic guidline?

Any books or website links that are good for getting this basic information?

Are the multi-vitamin supplements necessary if I still feed kibble? I'll have to figure out where to purchase that if it is.

Thanks!

Scott_B
May 4th, 2007, 07:32 AM
So many carbs and veggies, so little meat. ,....sigh :o

technodoll
May 4th, 2007, 08:33 AM
easy... cook up a big pot of skinless, boneless lean meat in some water (or you can debone after cooking... like a turkey, chicken, beef, pork, etc) and mix with pureed cooked veggies (whole veggies like carrots and peas will go right through your dog, you need to mush or puree to break down the cellulose walls even if cooked) - no corn, no onions, no cabbage and beans (fart! fart!). if you want to mix in some cooked & mashed grains, go sparingly and use whole product like brown rice, quinoa, barley, oats.

Freely add whole eggs (with shell crushed in), whole oily ocean fish - or drained and rinsed canned fish like mackeral, sardines, salmon, etc - cottage cheese, yogurt, etc.