Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Dog Park Etiquette - I'm new at this

Matty
April 25th, 2007, 12:01 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm a new Dog owner. I own a 5 month old Schnauzer/Poodle cross. We went to the dog park the other day and there was an Airedale Terrier completely terrorising my Puppy. Before I had a chance to step in the Terrier had bitten my Puppy twice on her back side, than he turned his attention to another small breed and went for her neck! Fortunately he didn't get a hold of it, and by that time me and the other small Breed's dog owner stepped in and picked up our dogs.

The owner of the Airedale terrier was about 30 feet away staring into the sunset. She was completely indifferent to anything her dog was doing. I was steaming mad. It was the first time I had witnessed anything of the sort. To be honest I was completely lost for words and didn't know how to handle the situation.

Do I have a right to say something to her? After all, these are dogs in an off leash dog park. Is this kind of behaviour to be expected in a dog park? Should I leash my 8 pound menace and not let her play with bigger dogs?

I just want to make sure I handle the situation appropriately next time. Quite frankly I was too angry and taken by suprise to have handled the situation maturely, which is why I just opted to leave the park.

Sorry for the rant,
Matty.

TeriM
April 25th, 2007, 01:25 AM
Dog parks can be wonderful socialization places but they can also be an accident waiting to happen. I would have definately said something to that person, they should be watching their dog and monitoring its behavoir.