Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Other kitten Questions

sixcats
April 10th, 2007, 01:39 AM
My cat had kittens March 29th. I just have a few questions since I'm new at this.
*When can we start holding/petting them more? I keep reading that they need interaction with people so they are friendly with people. Plus it helps stimulate learning.
*When can I spay, neuter them and the mother? Do they offer discounts, because I'm pretty broke.
*When they start walking should I remove one wall of the box so they can get in and out?? Or does mom take them in and out?
I'm sure I'll have more questions, but for now this is some things on my mind.
Thanks.

sixcats
April 10th, 2007, 01:45 AM
Ok, so my cat just had kittens. I know once she weans them she can get pregnant. but while she's nursing is she ok? I plan to get her fixed as soon as they are weaned. I'm scared cuz the boy who got her pregnant lives outside our apt.

clm
April 10th, 2007, 06:03 AM
Make sure you keep her in until you can afford to get her fixed. You can check with your local Humane society to see if they have spay/neuter clinics at a lower cost.

Cindy

sixcats
April 10th, 2007, 12:38 PM
Thank you, I will look into that further. What about the other questions I asked. When do I get them fixed? Can she get pregnant while nursing? And when can we start interacting with the kittens more?

clm
April 10th, 2007, 01:19 PM
As soon as mom is comfortable with you around the kittens, you can interact with them, just don't interrupt their feeding, sleeping or grooming times with mom.
I don't know how soon a cat will come into season, but I wouldn't let her back outside until she's fixed.
I don't know how old the kittens have to be for their first shots either, so you might want to check with your vet on that.

Cindy

Maya
April 10th, 2007, 04:29 PM