Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Possible Bulldog Behavioral Problem...long explanation...sorry!!

erica_rogan
April 6th, 2007, 06:05 PM
Hi Guys!

I am new to this and new to being a pet-mommy.... I am looking for some information on my 9-month old bulldog Floyd...I just posted something else in another topic and I apologize for all of my questions...Floyd is an adorable and lovable lazy bullie who pretty much enjoys playing for a little while and sleeping a lot!! He has been socialized with all types of dogs...tried cats which didn't go over well...and lots of children...He is wonderful with children and has been with dogs until recently...

My husband and I noticed a change in his behavior towards big dogs...A few months ago was the first time we noticed when we went to see a famliy member that had 2 dogs (Rocco-Shep/Rott.mix and Cassie-Mix)...we brought Floyd and my sister brought Vito (her Boston Terrier) for a family play date...When we entered the house I still had Floyd on a leash and was trying to get it off but he was squirming a lot to run around..at this point Rocco came over to sniff him and i don't know if it freaked Floyd out or what...but for the remainder of the day Floyd had it out for him..He would make these noises and lunge for him..He never bit but I never let him out of my sight....He did this same thing again with a friend's Boxer...but doesn't do it with Vito or dogs his size...so we thought maybe it was a dominance thing..not dominance aggression but the need to be Alpha...if there is a difference?? But his last interaction was with a Basset Hound that he is familiar with and is very very submissive as she instantly lays on the ground..I see a complete change in Floyd's body language...tensing..and that noise again!