April 5th, 2007, 08:29 PM
Will wheat gluten be listed on the ingredient list as wheat gluten or are there other names it could be hiding under?
I have a bag of dog biscuits that my husband insists on buying. They contain wheat flour, wheat middlings and wheat germ meal.
April 5th, 2007, 08:46 PM
Well, wheat flour would have gluten in it, but it wouldn't be the wheat gluten that was affected by the recall...
As for middlings... I had to look it up. Not too yummy..
Wheat middlings (also called midds) is a very common ingredient in cattle feeds. Midds are a by-product of the flour milling industry comprising several grades of granular particles containing different proportions of endosperm, bran and germ.
April 5th, 2007, 09:00 PM
Ya, that is all I found too. Wheat gluten sounds yummy, doesn't it? In China they make wheat gluten look like all kinds of things.