Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Exercising my lazy cat - need ideas please!

kittiei
March 9th, 2007, 10:44 AM
I have 2 cats. They are sisters, Pansy is very active and energetic, she runs all over the place. Tulip, on the other hand, is rather lazy and has put on some weight lately as I've been out of town a lot in the past month. I plan to be home now for a long time and I'm determined to help her lose weight. I've changed their food and stuff. My question is, how do I get Tulip to play with me? She won't play by herself and she has always been rather passive and won't play with something if Pansy is playing, she just sits back and watches. If I can distract Pansy for a bit, I might be able to get Tulip to run for a minute or so but it's hard to distract one cat and still play with the other.

Does anyone have any ideas? I'm considering giving them some catnip on occasion (which I've never done before) because I hear it might be good for exercise...

:shrug:

Thanks in advance!

Kristi

clm
March 9th, 2007, 08:17 PM
I've also got 2 sisters and just like you one is very active and the other is not and is a couple of pounds heavier as a result. I had another kitten adopt me a month ago and she has been the answer. My heavier cat, Mookie, who doesn't really like other cats much, even her own sister, is now much more active. The kitten (now about 6months old I'm guessing), chases her around, more cautiously than she does the other one. Mookie also now plays more with the toys than she was before too. She waits until the other 2 are sleeping and then she starts running around playing with the toys she watched the others playing with. It's made a big difference, she'll never be a thin cat, but this has helped a whole lot.