Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

2 kittens instead of 1...any difference?

heather17021977
February 24th, 2007, 08:20 AM
A newbie here,

We are getting a kitten in the next week or so and we have thought about getting 2 since we'll be at work all day. Is too anymore work than one and what about the daily costs? I plan on feeding canned and dry felidae. Is this food expensive?

Any input is most welcome!

Heather

chico2
February 24th, 2007, 08:35 AM
Heather,I feel 2 kittens is always better than one,they'll keep each other company and be a lot of fun to watch and play with.
I have 3 cats and probably would never have just one.
The costs with 2 kittens,of course doubles spay/neuter,shots etc..but food is not a huge cost,I feed canned and good quality dry.
Of course with pets there will always be exspences,but they give it back in love and purrs ten-fold:cat:

heather17021977
February 24th, 2007, 08:43 AM
I'm getting them from a shelter called Bide Awhile here locally. They have 2 vaccinations, 3 de-worming, and spay/neutering before they leave. I believe they are 10-12 weeks old as well. They will be indoor cats too.

How much food does a kitten/cat typically eat in the run of a day? 1 can, 2 cans?

chico2
February 24th, 2007, 08:56 AM
Heather,I have actually forgotten how much each kitten ate,but my grown cats(5,9 and 10yrs old)share one can(small)in the morning and one at night+dry food available 24/7 and always fresh cool water.
Kittens probably need to eat more often in smaller portions,the shelter should be able to give you more info.
It's great they will already be s/n and have their first shots,but you will still have to take them to a vet for a check-up,follow-up on worms etc..
Since they are going to be indoor cats,yearly vaccines are not really needed,but that is my opinion only,my cats get yearly vaccines,they go outside supervised,except rabies they get only every 2 years,should be every 3yrs but I am working on my vet for that.