Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

cats and water

tonomon
February 11th, 2007, 07:01 PM
how do i make my cat, judah, drink more water. he recently went through a FLUTD incident. from all the research i've tried, the best preventive measure to avoid similar incidents i more liquid intake. i've tried bowls throughout the house, and water in his food(decreases appetite) w/minimal success. apologies due if this topic has been discussed before. it's my first time w/cats and pet message boards. thanks.

RolandsMom
February 11th, 2007, 07:40 PM
HI.
well i bought a water fountain (specially for cats) for my kitten cause he really likes to drink water out of the tap. i guess its full of oxygen and tastes good. he drinks LOADs of water from it! worth a try :)

dustybird
February 11th, 2007, 07:45 PM
I agree on trying the water fountain, I have heard lots of good things about them. I plan on trying it myself this summer. Also canned food will help if he will eat it.

Stacer
February 11th, 2007, 08:04 PM
I too have a water fountain, it's called FreshFlow, I don't know where you are, but I got mine a Canadian Tire. Both my cats drink more from that than they did just out of a bowl. Also, are you feeding your cat wet food? There's substantial water content in wet food. When I give my cats their wet food, I mix in a few tablespoons of water. They like the runny consistency better than the chunks of solid food (casue they can lap it up) and they're benefitting from extra water intake.

Kristin7
February 12th, 2007, 11:48 AM