Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

old debate relived

Catt31
March 18th, 2004, 07:42 PM
Ok, I know this has been discussed before, but I can't find it anywhere!! Now that I know about this big Iams thing, I want to switch food for Brick (64 lb. Rotti/Shepherd cross).

Any suggestions of what is good, and will keep him healthy and happy?? Something within reasonable price range of course (I'm only a teacher!) and nothing raw (sorry Carina, I can't convince the hubby-to-be to switch to raw!!) :D

I've heard Science diet isn't good. I've used Nutro for my cats and they liked it....is nutro good for dogs too??

Thanks guys & girls!!! ;)

LavenderRott
March 18th, 2004, 09:15 PM
I was feeding Canidae before I switched to raw. Chase was doing good on it.

Luba
March 18th, 2004, 10:31 PM
I don't do raw meat with Sadie but she gets mostly chicken, turkey, lamb, salmon, sardines supplemented with veggies and I do give her in addition MediCal developmental for pups.

:D

Carina
March 18th, 2004, 11:08 PM
Well if EVERYONE did raw those of us that do wouldn't be able to find cheap dog meat because it would be a hot item! :)

I like Canidae too...though I'm kind of a proponent of switching & mixing different good kibbles (& other food if you wish) together. Just because it seems so weird to me that we should feed only one brand for the life of an animal...it makes them so fussy & sensitive about food, which just isn't natural, IMHO.

Here's a page, with the WDJ top ten list:
http://www.bowchow.com/dogfeeding.html

I'd add Chicken Soup for the Dog Lovers Soul in there. Dumb name, good food. :) Also Natural Balance. Nutro is not the worst food you can feed, if you can't get any other good ones.

And remember, if your local pet store doesn't carry a certain brand, they can sometimes order it in for you if you ask.
The premium foods are often no more expensive b/c you have to feed much less - as much as half the amount - to maintain a dog's weight.

Spoiled