Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Rescues that Deal with Feral Cats

aries99
December 23rd, 2006, 05:34 AM
Hello Everyone:)
I am new to this so please bare with me. Just last evening I captured a feral cat. I was trying to catch a different feral cat, one that I have been feeding and slowly gaining trust. She was acutally in my trap eating (hadn't set it off yet), when along came another kitty and chased her away. This (not so nice) kitty ended up setting of the trap. I read somewhere that not to be suprised when the cat goes nuts. Nothing could have prepared me for that! I thought she was going to kill herself by headbutting the ends of the trap! Anyway, I ran out, threw a blanket on the trap and put her in my van. When I got home, she had settled down and when I lifted the blanket to get a good look at her she greeted me with a pleasent "HISS!". I could tell right away that she had a respiratory infection by her wheezing and runny eyes. I called my vet and brought her in right away. He gave her some shots (I think it was to reduce her fever and help her) and then prescibed her an oral antibiotic (liquid). He told me if I couldn't get her to take it by the syringe to mix it in with some food. So, my problem now is she won't eat! I don't know if it's because she is too sick or too scared. I'm not sure what I should do. I did try to give it to her through the syringe. I geared up (sweater and leather gloves) and managed to get a bit into her but it was a pretty traumatic experience for the both of us. I pretty much literally had to hold her right down with a towel over top of her and she attacked the syringe and latched on to it. I squirted it into her mouth and she got most of it in. I have never delt with a feral cat before and I am not sure if I am doing this right. If anyway has experience and wants to take her or can give me some advice, it would be greatly appreciated! Sorry to make this so long, I'm just worried and wondering if I did the rig