Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

House/Crate/Potty Training Beagles

boyd328
December 17th, 2006, 06:48 PM
Hello
This is my first time on the site and I my have the longst post ever but I have thessee two beautiful puppies and am trying not to go out of my mind! Eli-13 lbs, and Jemima-11 lbs are beagles. They will be 4 months old December 19. We got them about three weeks ago (the week before Thanksgiving). We are having difficulty with two things: A)the whole housetraining/crate training process; and B) eating their poop.

A) As far as the whole housetrainning/crate training process:
We have them on a consistent feeding schedule (2x per day at 6:45 a.m. and 5:45 p.m.) They each get a total of 1 3/4 cups of food per day, which is divided in half for each feeding.
We take them out every hour (unless we are at work or unless they are asleep then we wait until they are starting to wake them up and take them out immediately).
When we take them out we to to their "spot", which is an x-pen. We either carry them or walk them on a leash and they go inside the pen and do their business.
They almost alwasy go, and when they go, they get lots of praise and treats. I am sure the neighbors think we are crazy.