Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Stomache issues, maybe raw ???

Rottielover
December 15th, 2006, 07:31 PM
Ok, I started Harley on raw awhile ago, mixing half kibble half raw. Well this morning I gave Harley a nice meaty knuckle bone.
When I got in, all gone, no water left.
Went to feed my daughter, he kept pestering me, thought he wanted food.
Well I was wrong. He had weird color liquid poop in my bathroom, and peed. He never does this unless really sick.
Put my daughter to bed, took him out again. Explosive diareah, Weird yellow color.
If it is not meat that does this, is it possible he is having a reaction to the actual bone.....Yes he does eat the bone.

Frenchy
December 15th, 2006, 08:12 PM
I'm not an expert on food but when dogs eat something they are not use to, it can happen. (Like Molly throwing up yesterday after having cat poop delicatessy :o ) yes the litter box is now facing the wall !

technodoll
December 15th, 2006, 08:12 PM
yup, sounds like "too much bone, too soon" to me... :o also knuckle bones are for recreational chewing only (to clean teeth, exercise jaws & muscles, etc), - they're not meant to be eaten as the bone pieces are very dense and hard to digest. edible bones such as chicken backs cause less or no problems.

i would keep harley off bones for a while, back to feeding what you were when all was fine (kibble + ground boneless raw meat is fine, really!), give the knucklebone only under supervision and if he starts to chew off chunks, take it away. if you want to give him raw bones to eat, make sure they're well nestled in lean meat and served fresh from a good source.

it's all part of the learning process, getting to know your dog's likes, dislikes, tummy tolerances, etc. we all have to start somewhere! :grouphug:

Rottielover
December 15th, 2006, 08:30 PM