Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

chihuahuas sensitive stomachs

cooknwoman
December 14th, 2006, 06:37 PM
Hi everyone - this is my first time here - I am concerned because I have 4 Chihuahuas and they vomit often, at least one of them almost everyday!

We also have a lab and shepherd mix and they never vomit do Chihuahuas just have sensitive stomachs?

We feed them all natural kibbles of lamb and rice with no corn or by products.

I thank you and our :dog:s thank you :pawprint:
Susie Pedersen

heidiho
December 14th, 2006, 06:39 PM
sounds like it has been going on awhile have you called your vet??and i dont think it is normal for any pet to vomit often do you.

cooknwoman
December 14th, 2006, 06:45 PM
no, don't think it is unless this breed just has very sensitive stomachs. Brandie and Blondie are 6 1/2 yrs and they have always vomited - just now and again. We adopted 2 more a year ago last August and they have the same problem.
We make sure to give them vitamins which a gal from Petsmart suggested and we feed them 1/4 cup kibble morning and night and a small bone at lunch and to help them not get an upset tummy we started giving them a small snack at 3:30 in the afternoon.
We are both dissabled so we are home to tend to thier needs on a constant basis. They are our babies :) !! They are very active and have had all thier shots. Just wondered if this breed needs special attention.

Thanks,
Susie

heidiho
December 14th, 2006, 06:50 PM
well i dont know i just dont think any dog should vomit all the tiem,what did your vet say

jesse's mommy
December 14th, 2006, 06:52 PM
It might be the kind of food they are eating or they may have allergies. What kind of food are you feeding them? Also, this may sound gross, but what does the vomit look like? Is it a yellow bile? Is it their food? Is it saliva/phlegm?

Also, welcome to the board.

rainbow
December 15th, 2006, 10:53 PM
I agree with Jesse's Mommy. By chance, are you feeding them Nutro's Lamb formula?