Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Brady Bunch dog family

Neptune
December 8th, 2006, 07:54 AM
Hi everyone,

This is my first post here, so please excuse any errors I might make. I am still learning the board.

My question is this: my boyfriend and I have a combined total of 7 dogs. I have four, he has three. He used to train German Shepherds for 'bite work' and his three are GSD's now too old for their sport and are 'retired'.
I am a softy and my four are all rescues of indeterminate breed. A rottie mix, a pit mix, a hound mix, and a chihuahua mix.

I am very comfortable with most dogs, including his. His GSD's were not well socialized with other dogs when young, but they are submissive with most people. The are also VERY well obedience-trained.
My dogs are well socialized with both people and animals, including cats etc. They are also obedience-trained, but not to the degree of my boyfriends' dogs.

We are considering living together, and will need to intermingle our dogs together as well. I worry constantly about the safety of my dogs (I have seen his get in some real knockdown dragout fights, with injuries all around.) In all the years I have owned dogs, mine have NEVER gotten in a fight with injuries- knock-on-wood. Just a minor tussle here or there. I should also say, all of his are intact- all of mine are fixed.

All of the dogs have been out together several time, always supervised. They typically ignore one another, but there have been a few 'misunderstandings' between them, and they seem to not know what to do with one another. I am worried about a 'doggy misunderstanding' turning into a fight which I feel certain would go badly for one of mine. Or for both. At any rate, it is stressful for our HUMAN relationship!

Any suggestions for blending this into one big happy family?? Thanks in advance.

Neptune

jessi76
December 8th, 2006, 08:13 AM
I should also say, all of his are intact- all of mine are fixed.