Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Puppy Food

Tazette
November 29th, 2006, 02:36 PM
I've been reading alot of posts regarding healthy dog foods and wish I was able to get some of them here in Yellowknife, NT, but we're limited since there is 1 vet clinic and only a small handfull of pet stores.

We've been feeding Sprocket Nutro Natural Choice Large Breed Puppy, Lamb Meal & Rice Formula and just started mixing some Nutro Natural Choice Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula because he doesn't seem to be a big fan of Lamb, but absolutely loves Chicken.

Does anyone know where Nutro falls for healthy dog food? Most of the pets stores and vet have Nutro and also promote Science Diet, but I haven't heard it's that great. Our vet recommended Nutro, although they nomally promote Science Diet. I'm very new to this, so any imput would be a great help.

Thanks!!!

:crazy:

barkley21
November 29th, 2006, 02:48 PM
Hi Tazette,
Nutro IMO is not that great. There are other foods that are much better. Nutro's large breed puppy formula (and their other formulas too I believe) contains Menadione which is known to cause some of the following health problems:

causes cytotoxicity in liver cells
causes formation of radicals from enzymes of leucocytes, with the consequence of cytotoxic reactions
considerably weakens the immune system
possible mutagenic effects
damages the natural vitamin K cycle
has no effect on coumarin derivatives, which are often present in commercial food due to mold contamination (toxic when ingested)
causes hemolytic anemia and hyperbilirubinemia, not just linked to large doses
disturbs the level of calcium ions (Ca2+) in the body, which is an important factor fibrinolysis
is directly toxic in high doses (vomiting, albuminuria), unlike natural vitamin K
builds up in tissue and has been detected in eggs, meat and milk of animals supplemented with menadione derivatives
causes irritation of skin and mucous membranes