Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Dogs Getting Fixed!

brandynva
November 14th, 2006, 10:18 AM
Ok, so today is the big day, finally. Our dogs are off to get fixed so we can't have little mini Roscoe's and Mileva's running around. :thumbs up Just a couple of questions:

What can I expect the first couple of days? I know that there will be some pain. Any suggestions on how to keep them quiet and calm and how long do I have to do that for? What about pain? I'm sure there is pain involved, especially for the female. How long does the pain linger? I'm really new at this. I can't wait to baby them though. We pick them up at 2:30est. On a side note, it sure was fun explaining to my 8 and 10 year old what fixing means. :eek:

erykah1310
November 14th, 2006, 10:55 AM
I didnt know they were broken:eek:

that was corny I know...lol

Well I hope you opted for laser surgery, that is all i have experience with.
I know for Nikita she was her usual self about 3 days later. ( except they removed her brain during the surgery I think)

Its hard to keep them calm and quiet, but pee breaks and stuff should be on leash and preferably a short one.

Glad to hear they are being "fixed" its a great feeling to know that in no way your dogs are ever going to be adding to the "problem"...

:thumbs up

Frenchy
November 14th, 2006, 11:34 AM
Well, mine and fosters were ok the minute they came back home. The thing is to get them to be calm :D :yell: :frustrated: GOOD LUCK :p kidding (or not :rolleyes: ) when you put the cone on them they usually don't get too excited!

brandynva
November 14th, 2006, 11:54 AM
I have never heard of laser surgery before! As we are taking them to a low cost spay/neuter place I doubt that's one of the options. I guess my greatest fear is tearing the stitches open, especially on our super hyper GSD. The leash will be our best friend for sure the next few days... Another question, does altering your pet change their behavior? ie.. make them calmer etc...