Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

6 week old puppy

earthspirit
October 18th, 2006, 01:23 PM
Hello, I am adopting a med/lrg puppy in two and a half weeks. She will be 6 and a half weeks old when I take her home. I know this is too young to seperate pups from its mom and sibblings but the owners of the mom is moving out of town and they cannot bring the dogs with them. The puppy will have her first needles before I get her. My questions are: What do I feed her? Can I teach her things that the mom would have taught her? And, any other things you can think of would be of great interest to me. I have always owned dogs and cats so I am not a newbie to pet ownership, just to young puppies.

~michelle~
October 18th, 2006, 03:26 PM
i havent had young puppies, but there are alot of good suggestions on the food forum for food.....are they not taking the mother dog as well? maybe whomever is taking the mother dog can keep the puppies for a couple of weeks until they are fully weened

phoenix
October 18th, 2006, 03:40 PM
I got one of my dogs very young. As you said, it's not desirable, but if it's necessary, here are some of my tips:
- you can feed a good all life stages food, they are weaned by that age (I feed Canidae)
- we had some trouble with bite inhibition- didn't learn to be gentle. Find a 'puppy class' and go- you can go after first set of shots. If you know other dogs that are safe (well behaved, accepting of puppies but not a push over, has all shots) then I'd say socialize him there too. Careful of taking the puppy anywhere else though until shots are done. After final shots, socialize him everywhere and everytime you can.