Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Questions about kitten

crosswire
September 28th, 2006, 10:43 AM
1)Is it ok to feed my 5 month old kitty 2% milk?
2)Also, i did rescue it from the wild although it was taken care of by ppl in the appt compllex i got it from. Can i give it a bath or just brush its fur with a wet towel?
3)Its a female and going to be indoor cat.Does it have to be spayed?
4)How can i deter it from scratching the furniture or rather what toys etc i need to get?I already have a cardboard box scratch post which doesnt do much.
5) i was told not to introduce cat nip to the young kitten as they might get violent and too resltess and this info was from a person at a pet value.Is this true?

Thanks a mill!

Daizy
September 28th, 2006, 10:58 AM
Well, I am new to having a kitten too - but here is what I have discovered
1) I gave my kitten milk initially and she drunk it but now she isn't bothered and prefers water. I think it is more a meal than a drink for them - water needs to be supplied all the time.
2) I bath my kitten. I was told start them off young and they sort of get used to it.
3) Have you heard a cat in heat howl - you will want to spay her!
4) Don't know
5) Don't know

Hope this helps alittle. I think there are experts here who really will know how to answer your questions.

jiorji
September 28th, 2006, 11:37 AM
congrats on the kitten!

my advice is this....bath won't do anything. You need a vet check to take a look in all the spots where mites and dirt can be hiding that you won't be able to see. My kitten that was rescued from the wild seemed clean enough until the vet took a took in her ear and scraped out heaps of ear mites. Live ones too. You don't want those on your pillow. Those are treated with pills.
Also she could have worms, something you also don't want.
She can also have fleas. Personally I can't see them, so again a vet needs to take a look. All those things above can't be treated with a simple bath.