Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

What is the difference if any between vet tech and vet assistant?

lezzpezz
September 22nd, 2006, 02:57 PM
There is a job posting for a vet assistant and I would like to know the difference between tech and assistant, such as educational requirements and job descriptions.

Who knows! Maybe a career change??

List
September 22nd, 2006, 10:42 PM
In my experience, vet techs have a three year college diploma. While vet asst. (which I have worked as) usually either are trained at the clinic or have a one year animal care college diploma.

When I worked as a vet assistant, I got great opportunities and learned a lot. I assisted in surgeries, ran bloodwork, ran fecel tests, restrained animals and generally gained a lot of great experience. But in my area requirements basically came down to having knowledge of animals and being comfortable around them.

I enjoyed it so much I am enrolling in vet school.

Anyways, if you decide to apply, good luck! Its a great opportunity :thumbs up

Prin
September 22nd, 2006, 10:45 PM
I thought it was the opposite... I guess it depends where you are and what programs are around... I was a vet assistant and I had no schooling for it...:o Here, we have a 3 year Animal Health Technician diploma, and them plus the ones who graduate with a BSc in Animal Science handle most of the vet tech work.:shrug:

MyBirdIsEvil
September 22nd, 2006, 11:05 PM
Prin, am I confused or does your post say the same thing as list's?

You said it's the opposite where you are, but when I read both of your posts they looked like they said the exact same thing.

Now I don't know what I'm reading, lol.

Byrd
September 22nd, 2006, 11:07 PM
I have an Animal Care Aide (aka Vet Assistant) diploma, but the most it got me was dog grooming. LOL the diploma is now 12 years old. :o It was a one year course at Ontario Business College.