Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

My cat likes to pee right beside his box

treid018
September 7th, 2006, 01:31 PM
Hi,
My 1 year old cat likes to pee right beside his litter box. He does pee in his box most of the time, but goes on spurts where he pees right beside his box. I got him another litterbox and put it in a different area of the house, which helped for a while, but he's doing it again! I've changed the litter type (clay, clumping, Yesterday's News), and I stopped using litter deodorizer, but it doesn't seem to matter. I clean his boxes everyday, sometimes twice. He is neutered, and otherwise well behaved, other than his occasional whineyness.
I'm a student, so taking him to the vet is kind of a last resort thing...I'd like to try some behaviour modification first. I have tried watching him carefully and praising him when he uses his box. I have also tried limiting him to just the bathroom until he gets used to his box. These things work for a while, but he eventually starts peeing beside his box again (I clean up the pee with enzyme cleaning solution for cat urine).
Any suggestions?
Thanks!

Writing4Fun
September 7th, 2006, 01:39 PM
Well, when it comes to cats and their litterboxes, the vet should be the first resort. Most of the time, the problem is due to some sort of urinary problem - an infection or crystals or similar infliction. Also, changing his routine (ie. new litter, new box, behaviour training) might stress him out, causing him to indulge in even more inappropriate urination. Talk to your vet about a payment plan or offer to clean out cages or something. A $50 check-up should be the first thing on your list. Good luck!

treid018
September 7th, 2006, 02:00 PM