Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

New Dog Owner - Yikes

mevans
August 1st, 2006, 10:48 PM
I'm realizing I'm a total novice on training dogs here. I have owned dogs before but have never owned them from puppyhood. I recently acquired a mixed-breed terrier who is now 3 months old. She's been a great dog so far - good temperament with the kids and even the other animals in the house.

I'm trying to train her to walk on a leash. Having no experience at doing this, I am currently doing the following:

- Leaving a collar on her all the time so she gets used to that
- Putting the leash on when I take her out in the morning.

The problem is when I take her out she pretty much just wants to lay down on the front lawn and go to sleep. This will be a very fat dog if this trend continues.

Any thoughts on how to get poor Abby excited about going for a walk?

Prin
August 1st, 2006, 11:01 PM
Is it super hot where you are? Maybe it's the heat that's slowing her down..

OntarioGreys
August 2nd, 2006, 05:07 AM
if you have car traffic going by( the motion and noise) can be very intimidating I have a lot of traffic in front of my home, even a new area can be scary for them

With pups I usually start by driving or carrying them to a nearby park as they starting becoming comfortable there I start walking them home from the park

The other thing is just spent some time out in the front yard at first get them used to just being out front and they begin to get comfortable with walking arount the front yard on leash , gradually start walking a little ways from home, gradually building distance

rainbow
August 2nd, 2006, 12:44 PM
You could try having a few treats in your hand and coaxing her that way. :D

Yanagi
August 3rd, 2006, 02:20 AM
Maybe you should start by walking her around the house then outside or let her walk around the house with the leash on so she gets used to the leash... Maybe...

tenderfoot
August 3rd, 2006, 12:26 PM