Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Could my dog have rabies??

Lexie
July 10th, 2006, 12:01 AM
Hi everyone, new member here.

Like everyone here, i love my pet very, very much. But this is my first time taking care of my dog, so i dont really know what is normal about what he may be doing, or not. so a little info about him.

he is a 10 month old shih tzu. he is mostly white with a few light brown patches here and there on his fur.

1st question: on his body, his skin, he has dark patches all over his body. you can only see it when he's wet. the areas that does not have the dark patches, are pinkish.. basically it looks healthy to me. near his rear is where most of the dark patches are. very dark, and a very different color variation from the light pink skin he has. my question is: could this be a sign of skin cancer or skin disease??? or anything that i should be concerned of?

2nd question: we spent the whole day on a boat today, with tons of food, 16 people, and a lot of fish (i dont know if this info may be relevant with this question). anyway, at the end of the day (8 hrs later) after i have bathed him, his lower jaw seemed to be shaking uncontrollably, for a quick few seconds. then it stops. a couple minutes later, it starts up again. i was not there when this happened, but my brother says there was a little bit of foam coming out of his mouth at the same time. he also says, "This could be a symptom of rabies" which of course, freaked me out. the thing is, this has happened only once before, which was a long time ago, so its not common for him to do this. but since he did this after a shower (at the time, he was not 100% dry, but more close to 70%) could he just be quivering? could it be rabies?

please help me. as a new owner, i am currently very scared. so any responses is very much appreciated.

Shaykeija
July 10th, 2006, 12:11 AM