Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

recovery period after neutering dog

gutz
June 27th, 2006, 09:47 PM
Hello everyone
This is my first time on a live "chat" website.
I am new to owning a dog, and we got our 9 month old chow chow castrated yesterday morning (approx 36 hrs ago). I find he has trouble standing. He sits 90% of the time, and other 10% he is lying down. We went to the vet tonight and he got a painkiller. luckily he started eating after the painkiller. Can someone give me some feedback how their dogs reacted to the operation in the first few days? I hate seeing my dog suffer. How long will it take until he starts acting normal again? The vet says 10-12 days for full recovery. I would appreciate some real life examples of how you coped with the recovery period.

Thanks for your help.
Signed, Really Worried

Frenchy
June 27th, 2006, 09:56 PM
I had a lot of fosters neutered.None of them had problems after the operation but they did stayed at least 24 hours at the vet before coming home.I would wait until tomorrow and see if he's feeling better.He could be sore and tired,that's normal.Try not to worry,but watch if he eats and drink.By tomorrow he should feel better.

Rottielover
June 27th, 2006, 09:56 PM
Harley was neutered at 11 months old. The day he had the operation was the day he came home. He was his normal self once the dopiness got out. I had to keep him quiet because he ripped a stich ( silly dog) and he had a staple put in. other than that he ate normal, moved normal. Neutering is a minor surgery, so there should not be any lingering affects

wdawson
June 27th, 2006, 10:35 PM
beathoven was at the vet 24 hours after..........funny looking cone on his head for a week,not one problem.

Prin
June 28th, 2006, 12:30 AM