Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Boarding kennels

erykah1310
June 19th, 2006, 03:38 PM
With my new job, i am going to have to be out of town for a week every once and a while.
This weekend I have interviews and visual inspections at a couple dozen boarding facilities for hte dogs. ( the cats will be going to my cousins and the rabbits to another cousin)
I was just wondering what i should look for, good and bad! Im really quite new to this.
How can i make the adjustment for the dogs easier?? I am bringing them with me on the weekend too, for meet and greets.
Also if anyone in the sudbury area could recommend a good facility that i may not have on my list could you PM me? thanks

SarahLynn123
June 19th, 2006, 05:26 PM
Couple things I look for:
1) are the other dogs in there happy & content or fearful & sad. A couple dogs maybe a little scared in a new situation but certainly not all!

2) Are the pails of water securly hitched so they cant flip it over and be left with no water?

3) Do they have there own dog run with indoor and outdoor access at all times during the day? Can they be locked in at night?

4) Do they have an emergency escape plan if a fire was to occur?

5) If an injury was to happen, what would their actions be? (ie, pay for the vet then bill you etc.)

6) How much exercise will they get?

7) How often are they fed and are they willing to adjust to fit your dogs schedule?

Thats all I can think of for now, I also like it when they say to drop by anytime for a tour. I feel better knowing they are definatly not hiding anything!

Prin
June 20th, 2006, 01:23 AM
What kind of bedding do they have? Will your dog be sleeping on cold tiles all week?

How do the fences look? Are they mangled? (IMO, more mangled = more time unsupervised, but that's just my opinion).

If they have a general play area and you go see it, how is the tour guide with the dogs? Is s/he comfortable with a lot of dogs? Is anybody afraid of him/her?