Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Pain management for dog with osteosarcoma

Katie 77
June 5th, 2006, 12:40 PM
Hi everybody. This is my first time posting in this forum--so I hope I convey all the necessary information. Our beloved 12-year old yellow Lab, Elvis, was diagnosed with advanced osteosarcoma in his left front leg last week. He'd been limping badly, but the vet had chalked it up to arthritis, and given him a steroid shot plus medication for pain. She was in the process of trying to talk us into putting him on Rimadyl when she decided to do an x-ray of his leg. The bone in his shoulder is pretty much disintegrated, as is much of the long bone between his shoulder and knee. She said she doesn't know how he's even walking. But he's a Lab--a very sweet, loving, social animal who loves to follow us from room to room, even if he has a terrible limp.
Anyway, she said that amputation isn't a good choice for Elvis because of the arthritis in his other legs, and said that in her experience, radiation doesn't add enough time to be worth the stress/sickness for the dog. So we have Elvis on Rimadyl, but it's not doing enough for him. He gets a pill at 7am, and it lasts until about 3pm, when he becomes clearly uncomfortable again. She'd said we could try adding in some opiods (morphine, etc), but she seems to be clearly leading us down the path of euthanasia.
My husband and I are heartbroken over this. We both grew up with dogs, and they're a part of the family for us. And this is the sweetest, most gentle dog we've ever known. And he's wonderful with our 2 year old, who wakes up asking for him, and gives him pets all day long. We don't want to say goodbye sooner than we need to, but we don't want him to suffer, either.
Have any of you been in this situation, and if so, did the morphine help?