Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Questions after having my foster-dog neutered!

liloaties
May 31st, 2006, 10:59 PM
Today my husband and I went to go find another dog that would suit our 1 year old Pointer Mix. We found a really sweet Lab Mix and he was just neutered yesterday.

Now I really don't want to sound stupid, but I've NEVER had a male dog EVER. So I have no clue what to expect as far as neutering goes. We brought him home today and he's just been hacking and so far has thrown up 6-7 times. There's hardly anything coming up at all.. I'm just really worried. I read in some places that it's normal for dogs to be sick after being neutered.. Is this true? I'm just really worried because I have no knowledge at all what to expect.. Not to mention that he's a new dog and I hardly know how he acts yet.

He also has some white icky stuff coming out of his nose. Is it possible that he may be sick from the anethesia and maybe has some kennel cough? And if so, is it possible for him to pass it on to my other dog? She is up to date on all of her shots including Bordetella (sp?).

Someone please help ease my mind! I can't sleep very well knowing something is wrong, especially since he's hacking and throwing up. Please help!

-Tiffany West

rainbow
May 31st, 2006, 11:05 PM
I've had lots of male dogs and got them all neutered but never had any problems. I know they can get sick from the anesthesia (sp?). I would give your vet a call. :pawprint:

Prin
June 1st, 2006, 02:36 AM
The vet should have a look at the dog again for the kennel cough and be asked about the vomiting... If it is kennel cough and your other dog has had shots fairly recently (under 6 months ago), she should be ok, unless her vaccine doesn't cover this particular strain... As Rainbow said, anaesthesia can cause vomiting, but it's best to check with the vet to be sure this isn't an extreme reaction.

liloaties
June 1st, 2006, 03:21 AM