Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Keeping other cats away from my own cats and property

ekeryn
May 26th, 2006, 08:33 PM
Hi,
I am a new member and this is my first time.

I have two 6mth old female cats that are locked indoors each night, but are left outside during the day, when I am not at home. For about 2 months now, another older cat (who I have not seen before) comes over to our yard and hunts down and fights with my cats. Does anyone have any ideas on how to keep that other cat away. My cats are becoming too scared to go outside during the day. Thanks, hope someone can help me, Ekeryn

mafiaprincess
May 26th, 2006, 09:02 PM
Most of us practice responisible pet ownership that includes not leaving cats outside unsupervised. Too many things can happen to them including harassment from other animals. If indoors or outside supervised, bad things can't happen.

Lucky Rescue
May 26th, 2006, 09:43 PM
Are your cats spayed? Why would you leave them outside alone during the day when you aren't home? There is no way to keep the other cat from entering your property.

Your cats could end up being stolen, run over, attacked by dogs, poisoned or could easily get (at the very least) abcesses, and contagious and fatal disease from catbites, such as leukemia, panoleukopenia, and FIV.

Puppyluv
May 26th, 2006, 10:12 PM
Most of us practice responisible pet ownership that includes not leaving cats outside unsupervised. Too many things can happen to them including harassment from other animals. If indoors or outside supervised, bad things can't happen.

Would someone please tell my neighbours this? PLEASE????

ekeryn
May 27th, 2006, 05:21 PM
Hi,