Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Cat litter poll

kayla
May 12th, 2006, 08:08 AM
What's your favorite type of cat litter? I'm new to the world of cats and am trying to figure out what the best type of litter to use is. Which one is the best odour controller, the healthiest for the cat, best for the environment etc etc?

Also does anyone know if there is a type of litter you can use in a compost heap?

jessi76
May 12th, 2006, 10:07 AM
I use Arm & Hammer Multi Cat Clumping Litter. But I also put down a layer of regular baking soda first, then top it with the kitty litter. Although the Arm & Hammer brand has some baking soda in it, I find doing the layer in the bottom of the box helps immensely. Controls odors great. Then when the cats use it, and scratch, it mixes in.

I don't compost, so I can't answer that question. I just scoop daily, bag it, and toss in the trash.

LM1313
May 12th, 2006, 10:54 AM
Be careful about dirt from the garden, it can contain parasites.

I've used various litters for my kitties.

Corn litter - Digestible, clumping, flushable litter. Great if you have young kittens who accidentally step in their pee. Clay clumping litter can be harmful to them if they digest it while licking off their paws, but corn will go right through them. However, it is not great for odor control, even the "multi cat" version.

Clay clumping litters - All the "odor eater" ones I've tried have been very good at controlling odor and the clumps get VERY hard, which makes them easy to scoop. However, you have to make sure the cat doesn't ingest it while grooming. Not flushable.

Pine litter - I've tried the kind with little wormy pieces of pine about a half inch long and that stuff is worthless. However, the stuff that is ground fine into tiny pieces (the size of normal litter) seems to work pretty well. Very "pine scented." It's what I'm using right now. It's also flushable.