Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Dog Clippers?

mafiaprincess
April 24th, 2006, 11:59 PM
I borrowed a grooming set from a neighbour who hasn't seemed t ohave ever used them.. They've been used, but I doubt ever by her.
When Cider came home from the groomer a few weeks back, she was well, shaggy. I was hoping for a nicely short dog like Bailey's pics when just groomed..
I'm tired, I've had enough, so tonight I attempted to do it myself.. Her back was no problem, but her hips and belly just didn't seem to want to cut.. hair was jammign in the clipper every few minutes. So I gave up for now, but sadly even kinda botched she looks better..
I was wondering if this sounds like clippers in dire need of a sharpening?
Since I have no experience, I'm not entirely sure.. but I'd be willing to get them sharpened..

Dog Dancer
April 25th, 2006, 11:05 AM
Not sure if they need sharpening or not, I don't have to clip my dogs, but when I do my son's hair (hope he doesn't see this..) I know the clipper jam up if the hair is too long or thick. I have to back off and kinda layer it out a bit and do smaller sections. I sorta take a shorter layer off then go in for the complete trim. Hope this helps. If you've just borrowed the trimmers and already things look better maybe buy a good set for yourself and just have go.

mafiaprincess
April 25th, 2006, 12:51 PM
LOL. It's cocker fur.. It was kinda long, and was jamming the clippers.. but I was taking it slow, and it was still jamming within seconds.. I even cut her down some with sissors, and was just going to clean it up with the clippers.. but at that point the clippers seemed to not really be cutting.. Someone on the show circut told me dog clippers are finicky and she gets hers sharpened at every show she goes to.. which is why I wondered if maybe they were as dull as a hoe.