Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Stray dog looks pregnant, how do I tell?

AdoptionPalace
April 20th, 2006, 08:58 AM
Hi all! This is my first time posting here but this site look amazing and I can't wait to get to know all of you and be able to share knowledge!!

Well, my very first post has to do with a dog we've named Momma. Momma was tied to the bumper of my truck during the night about 3 weeks ago. I ran an ad in the newspaper for found dog but no one called so we decided to keep her and find her a home (we're a nobody rescue group--just a bunch of animal lovers determined to do what's best). Anyway. Momma looked like she was either pregnant or just had puppies so I took her to the vet to confirm one or the other. He said she was definately NOT pregnant and probably had puppies recently. About a week and a half later, her tits were more "obvious" and she had put on a good 6 lbs. So I took her back to the vet and again he said, no, she's not pregnant.

Well, last night I was petting her (she's VERY lovey) and I noticed that her tits are now sagging and her abdomen is almost solid--though not very large. She's very lazy, doesn't walk around much and when she lays down she lays on her side and when she sits, her legs are to the same side (sits and lays without laying on her tummy basically). And in the last week, she's eating twice as much as she had been for the two weeks before.

The vet says she's probably just in heat and that's what the "problem" is but she is not pregnant. I have someone interested in adopting her but I strongly believe that she is pregnant.

I have never had an unsterilized pet before--we've always had dogs (and cat) sterilized before placing them in homes and we've never kept unsterilized males and females together. Right now, Momma is the only animal of 8 in our rescue group who is not fixed (well, one of the cats isn't but if HE knocked HER up, give me a number for a circus!!!! lol)