Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Sick Katrina dog...Please help!

kathryn3939
April 17th, 2006, 06:56 PM
Hello, I've been fostering a Katrina rescue for two months. Last Sat. he began having diaharria with bloody mucus. On Monday went to the vet, and they did blood work. It was normal. A fecal check was negative for worms but five days later (Friday) they gave him a dose of Strongen because with diaharria , sometimes worms are difficult to detect.

They prescribed antibiotics for five days and pepto bismal tablets twice a day. They also told me not to feed him for 24 hours, and to feed him a bland canned food they prescribed. That was Monday a week ago...He got the Srongen last Friday.

He continues to have very soft stool with blood.

Has anyone seen this before? He is not lethargic. Don't want to return him to the shelter.

jawert1
April 17th, 2006, 07:29 PM
Don't want to return him to the shelter.

Then don't. I can't imagine a worse thing to do than return a sick dog who's had a miserable go of things back to a nasty situation. I'm sorry to pounce here, but bloody loose stools are an indicator of something wrong, anything from round worms to whip worm - which is miserable to get rid of and requires a lot of monitoring of the dog at all times, and never being left alone outside since worms reside then in the soil where he/she's gone. I would seriously take the pup back to the vet, this is not normal, though I do agree with the bland diet. When he does start to feel better and have normal stools, then slowly blend his regular food back into the bland diet until he's just back to normal. WARNING: this process will take time. If you have questions about what food to feed him, check out the food forum for some great recommendations. I truly hope you don't give up on this dog, he's had a miserable start to begin with and clearly isn't well. Good luck and please keep posted on his recovery.

kathryn3939
April 17th, 2006, 07:43 PM