Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Has anyone ever had a cat w/ broken hip?

Rocho917
April 7th, 2006, 01:11 PM
Hello,

I am writing becuz I am very concerned about my cat of exactly 1 year. He broke his hip and it took me a while to save the money to go to the vet. It has now been a few weeks that he has been hurt but appears to be handaling it well.

The vet said the best thing to do is get it hip surgery (or even amputation) or put him to sleep. She said he will be in pain. He is now running, jumping, laying on that side yet still limps. I am a full time college student working 25 a week at minimum wage and do not have the money to spend on a surgery.
I have tried to call shelters and no luck. What I would like to know is if anyone thinks he may be OK w/out the surgery?? Bones heal and he seems happy, it would be a shame to put him to sleep.

Anyone who is familar with this type of situation please respond

~help~

chico2
April 7th, 2006, 04:13 PM
OMG,I could not imagine living with a broken hip..poor kitty:sad:
Could you not find a vet who will let you pay in payments??
I can't imagine he could live happily with a broken hip..
Was he hit by a car??Not that it makes much difference how it happened,but he should not have to die,because he got hurt..

Most animals can live very good on three legs,they adapt very easily.
But with amputation of his leg,would that not still leave him with a painful broken hip?
I realize you are a student,but in taking in a kitten,you should have been prepared to spend some money,accidents happen.
Good Luck to the poor little one!!

Rocho917
April 7th, 2006, 05:59 PM