Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

cat urinating on clothes, linens (not ill)

inbloom
March 28th, 2006, 11:06 AM
Hello everyone,
I'm very happy to have found this forum. We have an odd urination problem that I can't explain. I worked as a Vet Tech for years and am no expert, but none of the "usuals" seem to fit with our cat.

We have 5 cats of all ages who are step-brothers and sisters to each other ;) My husband had 2 cats before, I had 2, and we adopted a kitten recently.

I know what you're thinking, but his cat, Pupi, has apparently ALWAYS done this. It didn't start after I moved in with my cats. He's about 10 years old and my husband says this has been going on for a long time. (he is a Persian) He, seeming randomly, will pee on clothes, bags or beds. It happens once every few months, but there will be bouts where we'll find a few incidents in a week or two. He will get in a hamper and pee, pee on clothes on the floor, pee on a bed or a bag on the floor, and recently, he got up on the dining room table to pee on clothes! (as far as I know, he has NEVER peed on the floor)

He's been neutered since he was a kitten, and his "sister" is an approx. 8 year old spayed female. My two cats are both spayed females, approx. 6 & 7 yrs old. We also have a 6 month old neutered male kitten. Pupi gets along with everyone (in fact everyone gets along except there are problems between his "sister", Putu, and my 7 year old female, Punkin.) *btw, none of these cats are biologically related*

*btw, they are all indoor only cats, although Pupi USED to be allowed to go outside years ago, before I was in the picture*