Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Marking her territory

littlemanx
March 13th, 2006, 03:43 PM
I have a 10 month old manx who is going through her 1st heat....and driving me nuts also....but she is soooo cute....anyway....she is making little pees all over the house and has never done this before her heat.....

Is there anything I can do to stop this until we breed her, or get her fixed???

chico2
March 13th, 2006, 05:06 PM
I have no experience with cats in heat,other than with on of my neighbors cats,but if you are not planning on showing her,please have her spayed,she will thank you for it and so will all the homeless cats for not bringing any more to the world.

Lucky Rescue
March 13th, 2006, 05:28 PM
No, there is nothing you can do to stop a cat's heat cycle. Your cat should have been spayed months ago.

I suggest you do it asap, as constant heats can cause all kinds of problems, from deadly pyometra to mammary and uterine cancer.

No need to breed her unless she is a show champion. There are plenty of Manx cats around. In fact we get them quite often in our rescue, including entire litters of kittens.

littlemanx
March 13th, 2006, 05:43 PM
thanks for the reply's
I am not interested in interrupting her heat, but I would like her to stop peeing all over the house....

Yes I will get her spayed right after this heat.

Tootsie is a real rescue, I found her when she was 3 weeks old, and left for dead in a field, and in a coma. A lot of TLC went into bringing her back to life. Her little body was flat and cold, and she could not even blink. I warmed her on my tummy and gave her fluids under the skin.

My disclaimer here is, she had such a rough start to her life, and I view her as this little baby....to young for a heat, never mind spaying.

Anyway, her we are 10 months later and she has recovered for the most part and now is a whopping 7 pounds from just ounces....