Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

back to school

raingirl
March 11th, 2006, 07:21 PM
I am having an debate with myself. I am considering going back to school.

The weird part is I was already accepted into the program I want twice, but chickened out. I was thinking of doing it part-time instead now, but it's still a large expense especially since I have no idea if I would ever get a job in that field.

It's for the Pastry Chef program at George Brown in Toronto.

I applied at the end of highschool, got in, but decided to go to UofT for Forensics instead. After I graduated from UofT, I couldn't find a job, so I applied again, but decided I didn't have the money.

It's something I obviously want to do and would excel at if I did, but it's still scary. The courses range from $200 to $1500, and I would need about 12 to graduate/get my certificate. Then I have to do an apprenticeship through the Ministry of Training, Colleges, and Universities, since Pastry Chef is a regulated trade in Ontario (you have to complete the apprenticeship and be certified to do it).

I have no doubt that it is my calling, and I think I could barely afford the courses one by one, which will take a while. Only two courses are in the $1500 range, so those I may have to save a while for....

My thing is that I don't have the option to take a pay cut to work in that industry, as I don't think I would get pay close to what I make now immediately. Plus, there aren't many jobs out there when I've looked. I'm not an entrepaneur, so starting my own business isn't an option.

I just don't know.

BMDLuver
March 11th, 2006, 07:41 PM
I'll point something out and this is in no way a criticism but you are young and don't have quite as much experience as some of us old gals... so here goes: